Here I come a-wassailing…


I have a new holiday tradition to add to my list: the consumption of wassail. I understand recipes vary, but the brew I had yesterday was pretty sublime. The ex-wife, with whom I remain on quite friendly terms, was kind enough to stop by my bachelor hovel yesterday and stew up a pot of the stuff.

It’s basically this:

In a large saucepan, simmer a mix of orange juice, apple cider, orange and lemon slices, cinnamon sticks, whole cloves and whole allspice (and star annis if you can find it) over low heat for two hours. (Have some Sam Adams Winter Lager and watch Elf in the meantime.) Strain, then infuse with a shitload of white wine (all measures approximate) and a few cups of rum, and continue simmering for about another 20 minutes. Ladle into mugs and enjoy. It can stay in the pot on the stove on its lowest setting for hours.

You’re welcome.

1 Comment

Filed under Life & Other Distractions

One response to “Here I come a-wassailing…

  1. yum! I had my first hot buttered rum this weekend and I have to say I am enjoying the hot, festive alcoholic beverages! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

